SMS Celebrates International Day Of Mathematics

The International Day of Mathematics, otherwise known as “Pie Day” has been celebrated worldwide under the theme “Mathematics for Everyone.

To commemorate this important event, the School of Mathematical Sciences (SMS) organized a Seminar for the CKT-UTAS community and the Senior High Schools within the University’s catchment area on Tuesday, 14th March 2023 at the CKT-UTAS Auditorium.
The Dean of SMS and Chairman for the occasion, Professor Kwara Nantogmah who was enthused with the high level of participation, stated that the aim of the celebration was to demystify Mathematics.

He buttressed this with a simple mathematical illustration to solve a puzzle.
Professor Eric Magnus Wilmot, Vice-Chancellor of CKT-UTAS bemoaned the relatively few number of female students studying Mathematics at the tertiary level. He expressed hope that the situation will witness a significant improvement.

The Vice-Dean of the School of Mathematical Sciences, Prof. Baba Seidu schooled participants on the importance of Mathematics and its applicability to fields such as Medicine, Computer Science, Communication, Security, Banking and Finance, Statistics, Ecology, Public Health, but to mention a few.

Speaker after speaker touted the milestones CKT-UTAS had chalked, especially in the areas of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computing, urging Participants from the Senior High Schools to make CKT-UTAS their preferred choice of University for further education.

They include Professor Mohammed Muniru Iddrisu, Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, Prof. Edward Baagyere, Dean of the School of Computing and Information Sciences, and Prof. James Abugri, Dean of the School of Chemical and Biochemical Sciences.
The rest are Prof. Douglas Kwasi Boah, Head, Mathematics Department, Prof. Suleman Nasiru, Head, the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Sciences, and Mr. Abdul-Majeed Yussif, Assistant Registrar, University Relations.

The School of Mathematical Sciences currently has four departments and one research Centre. These are the Department of Mathematics, Department of Industrial Mathematics, Department of Statistics, Department of Biometry, and Centre for Mathematical Sciences Research and Consultancy. The School is endowed with dedicated staff who are recognized globally for excellence in teaching and research.

They include 1 Full Professor, 6 Associate Professors, 10 Senior Lecturers, 11 Lecturers, 6 Assistant Lecturers, and 4 Administrative Staff.

The School provides academic and professional training at Diploma, Bachelor, Master, and Ph.D. levels in the Mathematical Sciences and looks forward to receiving into its programmes persons with the desire to enrich their knowledge and skills in the Mathematical Sciences.

Share News